Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Posted June 8, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley FitzpatrickTitle: The Boy Most Likely To
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Electric Monkey
Publication Date: June 9th 2016
Genres: Friendship, General, Love & Romance, United States, Young Adult
Pages: 496
Format: eARC
Source: Electric Monkey
four-stars

For fans of Morgan Matson, Rainbow Rowell and John's Green's Paper Towns
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the drinks cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house.
Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.
For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard . . .

Review: I adored Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door, and while I liked What I Thought Was True it didn’t quite grab me in the same way, so I was really looking forward to the chance to return to the Garrett family and Tim. My Life Next Door did a wonderful job in introducing a wide range of characters I felt deeply invested in. I really cared about the Garrett family, who felt realistic to me, I rooted for Sam and loved her development throughout the book. There were subplots and characters I cared about, like Nan and Tim.

The Boy Most Likely To is definitely not My Life Next Door. It’s a little darker and moodier, not a ‘typical’ contemporary romance novel and this worked for me and felt right for her characters..

For me, The Boy Most Like To was more ‘Tim’s’ story overall than Alice’s, and the title would support this. The novel is told through dual perspective, so Alice has her own distinct plot-line which builds satisfyingly  upon plot points in My Life Next Door, but for me I was rooting for Tim overall. There’s something about his characterisation that cannot help but steal the scene/chapter and I felt hints of it in My Life Next Door as he read as much more than just a secondary character.Tim is a character you cannot help but root for, even though you might not agree with his actions or behaviour and this is a novel where he really begins to grow. I became invested in his relationship with his father and felt that it felt plausible. I could see where each character was coming to at points and I could see why his dad reached a point of needing to make some dramatic stand and ultimatum. Tim is a deeply flawed character and it’s clear has some issues around drinking and partying, however from my experience reading My Life Next Door, Huntley Fitzpatrick does add deeper, darker issues to her contemporary YA so this is not a real departure from her earlier writing.

As an aside, if you look at any review of The Boy Most Likely Too online, it probably mentions a twist which is pretty divisive. I, being one of those people who hunts out spoilers periodically, knew where it was going which in a way was great as I could see little hints along the way from a structural perspective,  but this may have influenced my feelings on the twists and developments. I’m keeping this review as spoiler free as possible so won’t delve any further at this time.

Fans of My Life Next Door will surely love briefly returning to the world and characters again, but The Boy Most Likely To is its own distinct story and can be read as a standalone novel. I think fans of contemporary YA will find a lot to enjoy overall in The Boy Most Likely To however there are some developments  and plot points that may not work for readers.

four-stars
Divider

Review: The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi

Review: The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi

Review: I’d heard a lot of positive things about Paolo Bacigalupi’s YA novels however hadn’t had the chance to really delve into his books, so when Hayley at EdPR offered me a review copy of The Doubt Factory I was thrilled. The Doubt Factory tackles a subject I’ve not really seen explored in YA: PR and the power of a cover-up or spin. It specifically looks at companies which are employed by large corporations or powerful people to essentially create doubt; hence the doubt factory. While this may not sound a particularly exciting subject for YA, Bacigalupi frames it like a Hollywood thriller. Alix is a girl who has a seemingly perfect, privileged life: she attends a highly selective private school, […]

Posted April 18, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Review: These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Review: These Shallow Graves was one of my most anticipated reads of 2015. From the moment I read about it in the Bookseller, to hearing the enthusiasm from Hot Key Books at their 2015 blogger brunch, I knew this would be a book I couldn’t wait for. It has taken me a little time to review it however do not think this is because it’s not met my expectations or I didn’t enjoy it. I did. Jo Montford wants to be a writer, however that isn’t what her family or society expect from her. Everything changes when her father is found dead after supposedly accidentally shooting himself. However, Jo knows her father wouldn’t clean a loaded gun so tries to uncover […]

Posted March 30, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zenter

Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zenter

Review: I heard about the Serpent King on twitter (from the lovely Carly at Writing from the Tub whose review is here) and it sounded completely up my street so I was really pleased when I was able to obtain a review copy on Netgalley. I love books set in the Southern US states, there’s something about them and the Southern Gothic movement I find completely fascinating and the summary seemed to suggest a True Detective style atmosphere. The Serpent King is beautifully written and the small Tennessee town Dill, Lydia and Travis live in is bought off the page and feels so real. Dill, Travis and Lydia are defined, compelling and well-drawn out characters each of whom has their own story […]

Posted March 28, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Divider

Mini Reviews #5: It’s Getting A Little Creepy

Review: I love a good creepy read and Daughters Unto Devils definitely delivered with its historical setting, mountain location and distinctly sinister plot. After Amanda’s family move to a remote cabin, she hopes she can leave her past behind, including the fever that she’s worried has caused her to lose her mind. Only, the cabin is soaked in blood and there are stories about the area – about murder and unhinged minds. Oh, this book is delightfully creepy and Lukavics writes a sinister, disturbing tale with an intriguingly unreliable and very often unlikeable narrator. The plot develops and becomes even more horror-filled and disturbing by the end and has this feverish quality to it. The horror and gore is not sanitised so […]

Posted February 10, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Review: I had heard a lot about Huntley Fitzpatrick from US book bloggers so was very excited to see that Egmont are finally publishing My Life Next Door in the UK and even more so when I was able to snag a review copy from Netgalley. I adore YA contemporary and I think most people who regularly visit this blog know that. While I try and review all types of YA, and while I admit I sometimes need a little break from contemporary, it’s the YA genre I return to the most. My Life Next Door feels like the perfect YA contemporary read. It’s set in the summer, it has romance, family drama, a main character trying to forge her […]

Posted February 8, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy

Review: Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy

Review: I’ve read and enjoyed several of Anne Cassidy’s YA novels (for example her Murder Notebooks series I’ve previously reviewed) over the years so I was looking forward to Moth Girls. The concept, with two missing girls, Petra and Tina, and their friend, Mandy, who has been left behind was intriguing and I liked that it showed the aftermath of these very difficult situations. How do you grow up knowing your friends went missing and you didn’t and that no-one knows what’s happened to them? I found Mandy the most interesting and vivid character in Moth Girls. I think this is probably because her arc is the most compelling to me personally. She has survivors guilt, wants to know what happened to […]

Posted January 4, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

2015 End of Year Book Survey

2015 End of Year Book Survey

How is this time already? 2015 definitely went far too quickly for my liking. I think a lot of this is due to my offline life (mainly work) and sadly the blog hasn’t been as up to date or on schedule as I had hoped. However, I still got a good amount of reading done and I’m excited to fill out The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2015 End of Year Book Survey for the first time! 2015 Reading Stats Number Of Books You Read: 137 (I forgot to log a lot of my books on goodreads and then had to try and remember and trawl through my kindle and shelves a lot later so there may be more) Number of Re-Reads: I didn’t […]

Posted January 2, 2016 by chooseyabooks in annual wrap-up / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke

Review: The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke

Review: I love Cat Clarke’s writing and think she’s a fantastic voice in YA so had probably been anticipating The Lost and the Found since I found out it was getting published. What I love about Clarke’s writing is the way she doesn’t present things as absolutes, there are shades between and she creates flawed, realistic, compelling characters. The Lost and the Found tells the story of a family in the public eye. When Faith’s sister, Laurel, was six years old, she was abducted. Thirteen years later she returns home. There is an element of ‘ripped from the headlines’ in the concept of this book, however Clarke looks at a difficult subject with care and thought. She depicts how the […]

Posted October 7, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Unbecoming by Jenny Downham

Review: Unbecoming by Jenny Downham

Review: Jenny Downham is one of my must-read authors, her contemporary YA is always thought-provoking, feels authentic and is beautifully written. Therefore, it’s fair to say Unbecoming was a highly anticipated 2015 read for me. What I love about Unbecoming is the fact that this isn’t a story about one character, but about three generations of women, each with their own secrets and fears and hopes. Considering the popularity of the ‘absent parent’ device in YA, it is refreshing to see a YA book about family relationships ,and one that doesn’t remove the ability to empower its teenage characters through those relationships. Katie’s relationship with her grandmother felt very honest and was a highlight of the book. They develop a strong […]

Posted September 14, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider