Review: Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicole Doherty

Posted July 11, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Hachette Children's Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Love and Other Man-Made Disasters by Nicole DohertyTitle: Love and Other Man-Made Disasters
Author: Nicola Doherty
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Publication Date: June 2nd 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Pages: 240
Format: eARC
Source: Hachette Children's Books
four-stars

A contemporary teen romance by Irish author, Nicola Doherty, about facing your fears and falling in love. A story with humour and heart, this book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Smale and Stephanie Perkins.
Juno is scared of a lot of things. Climate change, urban foxes, zombies - the usual. So when she goes on a skiing holiday with her mum's adrenaline-mad new husband and his tearaway twins, she doesn't hold much hope of surviving. Then she meets Boy. Gruff, hairy and thrill-seeking, he's everything Juno doesn't like. Or is he? Juno's about to discover there's nothing more scary than falling in love.

Review: I have always had a soft spot for contemporary YA. It’s probably one of my favourite genres and it’s always been one of my default writing loves as well. While some people may feel the US have the edge on contemporary YA, I think YA based in the UK and Ireland has so much to offer and is seriously underrated.  When I read the summary for Love and Other Man-Made Disasters on Netgalley, I had to read it. The ski resort setting also reminded me a little of the film Chalet Girl which I secretly loved.

Juno is a slightly anxious teenager who worries a lot. Now Juno is being forced to go on a skiing holiday with her mum and her mum’s new husband and his twin boys.

This is a great, easy to read, enjoyable summer read (despite the chilliness of skiing) and I read it in about two sittings. Juno really works as a character and she’s very relatable. Doherty makes her sympathetic without coming across as a caricature. The narrative voice is strong and draws you in. Juno is a worried teenager, worried about A-levels and what-ifs and I’m sure many readers can relate to this. Juno grows a lot within the novel. It’s great to read as she steps out of her comfort zone by learning to ski, meeting new people and forming new friendships and relationships.

Juno’s relationship with Boy developed well and and is nicely written by Doherty. That said, Boy did not work for me personally as a character name, albeit a nickname, but this didn’t pull me out of the story. Their relationship isn’t smooth sailing but felt plausible. I loved how their relationship developed and grew through the book and their dialogue.

The ski resort setting worked very well as well as being a YA novel setting I hadn’t read before. Overall, Love and Other Man-Made Disasters is an ideal summer read.

four-stars
Divider

Mini Reviews #6: It’s Thriller Time

Mini Reviews #6: It’s Thriller Time

Review: I’m always intrigued by cults and new religious movements so The Special Ones definitely appealed to me when I saw it on Netgalley and sounded like a slightly different YA thriller. The Special Ones is told through Esther’s perspective. Esther is one the four ‘Special Ones’ who live in an isolated house away from the modern world after He has chosen them. Each of them has a skill, expectations and are expected to promote their lives through online chats to their followers. On renewal day, He chooses one of them to be replaced and the cycle continues. Until something happens and things begin to change. I think it’s best not to delve too deeply into the plot intricacies as I don’t want […]

Posted July 4, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Review: I adored Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door, and while I liked What I Thought Was True it didn’t quite grab me in the same way, so I was really looking forward to the chance to return to the Garrett family and Tim. My Life Next Door did a wonderful job in introducing a wide range of characters I felt deeply invested in. I really cared about the Garrett family, who felt realistic to me, I rooted for Sam and loved her development throughout the book. There were subplots and characters I cared about, like Nan and Tim. The Boy Most Likely To is definitely not My Life Next Door. It’s a little darker and moodier, not a ‘typical’ contemporary romance novel […]

Posted June 8, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi

Review: The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi

Review: I’d heard a lot of positive things about Paolo Bacigalupi’s YA novels however hadn’t had the chance to really delve into his books, so when Hayley at EdPR offered me a review copy of The Doubt Factory I was thrilled. The Doubt Factory tackles a subject I’ve not really seen explored in YA: PR and the power of a cover-up or spin. It specifically looks at companies which are employed by large corporations or powerful people to essentially create doubt; hence the doubt factory. While this may not sound a particularly exciting subject for YA, Bacigalupi frames it like a Hollywood thriller. Alix is a girl who has a seemingly perfect, privileged life: she attends a highly selective private school, […]

Posted April 18, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Review: These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Review: These Shallow Graves was one of my most anticipated reads of 2015. From the moment I read about it in the Bookseller, to hearing the enthusiasm from Hot Key Books at their 2015 blogger brunch, I knew this would be a book I couldn’t wait for. It has taken me a little time to review it however do not think this is because it’s not met my expectations or I didn’t enjoy it. I did. Jo Montford wants to be a writer, however that isn’t what her family or society expect from her. Everything changes when her father is found dead after supposedly accidentally shooting himself. However, Jo knows her father wouldn’t clean a loaded gun so tries to uncover […]

Posted March 30, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zenter

Review: The Serpent King by Jeff Zenter

Review: I heard about the Serpent King on twitter (from the lovely Carly at Writing from the Tub whose review is here) and it sounded completely up my street so I was really pleased when I was able to obtain a review copy on Netgalley. I love books set in the Southern US states, there’s something about them and the Southern Gothic movement I find completely fascinating and the summary seemed to suggest a True Detective style atmosphere. The Serpent King is beautifully written and the small Tennessee town Dill, Lydia and Travis live in is bought off the page and feels so real. Dill, Travis and Lydia are defined, compelling and well-drawn out characters each of whom has their own story […]

Posted March 28, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 0 Comments
Divider

Mini Reviews #5: It’s Getting A Little Creepy

Review: I love a good creepy read and Daughters Unto Devils definitely delivered with its historical setting, mountain location and distinctly sinister plot. After Amanda’s family move to a remote cabin, she hopes she can leave her past behind, including the fever that she’s worried has caused her to lose her mind. Only, the cabin is soaked in blood and there are stories about the area – about murder and unhinged minds. Oh, this book is delightfully creepy and Lukavics writes a sinister, disturbing tale with an intriguingly unreliable and very often unlikeable narrator. The plot develops and becomes even more horror-filled and disturbing by the end and has this feverish quality to it. The horror and gore is not sanitised so […]

Posted February 10, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Review: I had heard a lot about Huntley Fitzpatrick from US book bloggers so was very excited to see that Egmont are finally publishing My Life Next Door in the UK and even more so when I was able to snag a review copy from Netgalley. I adore YA contemporary and I think most people who regularly visit this blog know that. While I try and review all types of YA, and while I admit I sometimes need a little break from contemporary, it’s the YA genre I return to the most. My Life Next Door feels like the perfect YA contemporary read. It’s set in the summer, it has romance, family drama, a main character trying to forge her […]

Posted February 8, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy

Review: Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy

Review: I’ve read and enjoyed several of Anne Cassidy’s YA novels (for example her Murder Notebooks series I’ve previously reviewed) over the years so I was looking forward to Moth Girls. The concept, with two missing girls, Petra and Tina, and their friend, Mandy, who has been left behind was intriguing and I liked that it showed the aftermath of these very difficult situations. How do you grow up knowing your friends went missing and you didn’t and that no-one knows what’s happened to them? I found Mandy the most interesting and vivid character in Moth Girls. I think this is probably because her arc is the most compelling to me personally. She has survivors guilt, wants to know what happened to […]

Posted January 4, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

2015 End of Year Book Survey

2015 End of Year Book Survey

How is this time already? 2015 definitely went far too quickly for my liking. I think a lot of this is due to my offline life (mainly work) and sadly the blog hasn’t been as up to date or on schedule as I had hoped. However, I still got a good amount of reading done and I’m excited to fill out The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2015 End of Year Book Survey for the first time! 2015 Reading Stats Number Of Books You Read: 137 (I forgot to log a lot of my books on goodreads and then had to try and remember and trawl through my kindle and shelves a lot later so there may be more) Number of Re-Reads: I didn’t […]

Posted January 2, 2016 by chooseyabooks in annual wrap-up / 1 Comment
Divider