Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Posted February 8, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Electric Monkey in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley FitzpatrickTitle: My Life Next Door
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Electric Monkey
Publication Date: January 7th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Pages: 464
Format: eARC
Source: Electric Monkey
five-stars

A gorgeous debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.
One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.
The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them... until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely in love, Jase's family makes Samantha one of their own. Then in an instant, the bottom drops out of her world and she is suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?
A dreamy summer read, full of characters who stay with you long after the story is over.

Review: I had heard a lot about Huntley Fitzpatrick from US book bloggers so was very excited to see that Egmont are finally publishing My Life Next Door in the UK and even more so when I was able to snag a review copy from Netgalley.

I adore YA contemporary and I think most people who regularly visit this blog know that. While I try and review all types of YA, and while I admit I sometimes need a little break from contemporary, it’s the YA genre I return to the most.

My Life Next Door feels like the perfect YA contemporary read. It’s set in the summer, it has romance, family drama, a main character trying to forge her own identity and some heartbreaking moments too.

Samantha Reed has watched the Garrett family next door for years; noting the loud, affectionate, busy family they are compared to her own. However when she and Jase strike up a friendship and relationship she is embraced into the Garrett’s world and her summer becomes significantly less boring and one to remember. However, while this starts as a YA summer contemporary romance, it takes a darker turn later in the book.

I won’t go into too much detail about the plot twist as it would spoil the book, however Fitzpatrick writes Samantha’s character really well and I felt like she was a real person who I really felt for at times and has some really difficult decisions and revelations to contend with.

Fitzpatrick writes beautifully and has a real gift with her characters. Pretty much every character feels distinct, realistic and has their own story to tell. The world feels realistic and the plot feels grounded. I loved how she wrote the relationship and the way first love feels, but also this book is more than a romance and really looks at family. I love it when this happens as family was such an important part of me and many of my friends growing up and is neglected in YA.

Overall YA contemporary fans are in for a treat and I highly recommend this book. It’s perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Heather Demetrios and Emery Lord. I can’t wait to read the next Huntley Fitzpatrick book.

five-stars
Divider

Review: Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy

Review: Moth Girls by Anne Cassidy

Review: I’ve read and enjoyed several of Anne Cassidy’s YA novels (for example her Murder Notebooks series I’ve previously reviewed) over the years so I was looking forward to Moth Girls. The concept, with two missing girls, Petra and Tina, and their friend, Mandy, who has been left behind was intriguing and I liked that it showed the aftermath of these very difficult situations. How do you grow up knowing your friends went missing and you didn’t and that no-one knows what’s happened to them? I found Mandy the most interesting and vivid character in Moth Girls. I think this is probably because her arc is the most compelling to me personally. She has survivors guilt, wants to know what happened to […]

Posted January 4, 2016 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

2015 End of Year Book Survey

2015 End of Year Book Survey

How is this time already? 2015 definitely went far too quickly for my liking. I think a lot of this is due to my offline life (mainly work) and sadly the blog hasn’t been as up to date or on schedule as I had hoped. However, I still got a good amount of reading done and I’m excited to fill out The Perpetual Page Turner’s 2015 End of Year Book Survey for the first time! 2015 Reading Stats Number Of Books You Read: 137 (I forgot to log a lot of my books on goodreads and then had to try and remember and trawl through my kindle and shelves a lot later so there may be more) Number of Re-Reads: I didn’t […]

Posted January 2, 2016 by chooseyabooks in annual wrap-up / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke

Review: The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke

Review: I love Cat Clarke’s writing and think she’s a fantastic voice in YA so had probably been anticipating The Lost and the Found since I found out it was getting published. What I love about Clarke’s writing is the way she doesn’t present things as absolutes, there are shades between and she creates flawed, realistic, compelling characters. The Lost and the Found tells the story of a family in the public eye. When Faith’s sister, Laurel, was six years old, she was abducted. Thirteen years later she returns home. There is an element of ‘ripped from the headlines’ in the concept of this book, however Clarke looks at a difficult subject with care and thought. She depicts how the […]

Posted October 7, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Unbecoming by Jenny Downham

Review: Unbecoming by Jenny Downham

Review: Jenny Downham is one of my must-read authors, her contemporary YA is always thought-provoking, feels authentic and is beautifully written. Therefore, it’s fair to say Unbecoming was a highly anticipated 2015 read for me. What I love about Unbecoming is the fact that this isn’t a story about one character, but about three generations of women, each with their own secrets and fears and hopes. Considering the popularity of the ‘absent parent’ device in YA, it is refreshing to see a YA book about family relationships ,and one that doesn’t remove the ability to empower its teenage characters through those relationships. Katie’s relationship with her grandmother felt very honest and was a highlight of the book. They develop a strong […]

Posted September 14, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Mini Reviews #4: The Netgalley Catchup

Mini Reviews #4: The Netgalley Catchup

Review: I love Kody Keplinger’s YA. I think she’s a brilliant, honest voice in YA and very engaging. It goes without saying Lying Out Loud was definitely a hotly anticipated 2015 read for me. Sonny is a liar, she almost can’t help it, but in many ways it’s much easier to live a lie than tell the truth, especially about her parents. After Sonny pranks new annoying boy, Ryder, after he asks out her best friend Amy, she accidentally ends up talking to him all night and connecting. Only, she’s still signed in as Amy. Now Sonny’s getting into lies and deceptions that might finally be her undoing and cost her friendship with Amy, as well as ruining her chances with Ryder, […]

Posted July 29, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

Review: Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

Review: Leah Thomas’ debut Because You’ll Never Meet Me arrived through the postbox as a surprise with a very intriguing premise. I find epistolary novels quite interesting and the idea of this impossible sounding friendship where they can never meet was unusual. Ollie is allergic to electricity, coming into contact  with it causes seizures so he is virtually stranded off the grid. His only real friend is a neighbour’s relative and he struggles with the more normal life she has and reconciling and competing with that with his own isolated world. Ollie is put in touch with Moritz, a teenager in Germany who relies on an electronic pacemaker who was born with no eyes, by his doctor and while it […]

Posted July 27, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Review: Where do I even start with this book? I loved The Sky Is Everywhere so this was one of my most anticipated releases of 2015 so my expectations were high to say the least. Love. Family. Art. These seem to the keystones of I’ll Give You The Sun. Nelson writes vividly about art, a love of it, the beauty and destruction of it. It’s a story of siblings, twins, once inseparable and now quite separate. Told in two timelines when the twins are thirteen and sixteen and we learn a lot about Noah and Jude’s . Nelson’s prose is poetic, literary and yet doesn’t sacrifice feeling for style. I still felt for the characters and the plot, however the […]

Posted July 24, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated Reads for the Rest of 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated Reads for the Rest of 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is the top ten anticipated books for the rest of 2015. How are we already halfway through the year already? Don’t forget to share your comments and TTT links     The Lost and the Found – Cat Clarke I adore Cat Clarke’s books; they’re so well-written and often very taut and tense. The Lost and the Found about a family whose daughter is abducted and then found thirteen years later sounds like it will be a gripping, if difficult, read. The Rest of Us Just Live Here  – Patrick Ness I love Patrick Ness’ writing and the concept of this book with what life is like when you’re […]

Posted June 9, 2015 by chooseyabooks in toptentuesday / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: All That Glitters by Holly Smale

Review: All That Glitters by Holly Smale

Review: The Geek Girl novels are such a fun YA series and Harriet is a great main character so I was looking forward to All That Glitters. Harriet’s finally a sixth former, however her best friend Nat is at college and Harriet feels they’re drifting, plus Toby’s nowhere to be found. Is sixth form really going to be any different? I don’t want to spoil the plot details too much but this Geek Girl book really examined the school experience well, as a lot of the other Geek Girl books have involved going to another country this one has a more relatable setting for a lot of its audience. It’s hard to read parts of Harriet’s school scenes, especially as her classmates […]

Posted June 8, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider