Review: Me, Suzy P by Karen Saunders

Posted January 28, 2013 by chooseyabooks in britishbookschallenge, reviews, yadebut / 2 Comments

16071342

I hadn’t heard anything about Karen Saunder’s YA debut, Me, Suzy P but when I received an email with an opportunity to read and review this book I was hooked from the summary. As much as I love more serious and sometimes angsty YA about issues, etc I have a real place in my heart for the more humorous and younger side of YA and this is where Me, Suzy P beautifully fits.

Suzy Puttocks is 14 and an average teenager. She has a boyfriend, Danny, her best friend Millie and her boyfriend and the four form a close-knit friendship group together. Her parents can be embarrassing, her older sister is getting married and is going wedding mad, while her little sister like to make her life as difficult as possible.

When a new boy Zach arrives at Suzy’s school, she is surprised to find herself an object of his attention and fancying him back, especially as she’s been going out with Danny for what seems like forever. Before she knows it, she’s broken up with Danny and there’s a massive rift in her group of friends. Has she made the right choice?

From the outset Saunders creates a strong voice and character with Suzy. She’s likeable and real, which is important when you consider the plot includes a situation where she’s not sure if she still wants to be with Danny and likes Zach. This is a situation many people find themselves in and I thought it was well-written and handled. Like a lot of other bloggers, I thought Zach was going to be the more preferable character to Danny, but as the book progressed I just adored Danny more and more. He’s an adorable geekish boyfriend and the sort of boy I would have loved as a teenager.

Saunders has a great gift for writing comic and realistic narrative and dialogue and she really bought the characters to life, especially Suzy.

This is a great fun read that I really enjoyed. I would love to read more of Saunders’ writing, especially about Suzy. I received a free proof copy from Templar publishing for review, which as always doesn’t affect the tone of my review. Fans of Cathy Cassidy, Diane Messidoro and Cathy Hopkins will love this new addition to the YA humour scene.

Amazon UK
The Book Depository

Do you want to see more posts like this? Subscribe to ChooseYA via email!

2 responses to “Review: Me, Suzy P by Karen Saunders

  1. I really must read this! Thank you for sharing! You’ve convinced me to pick this up and I’ll be looking for it next time I go to a bookshop. And I’m a huge fan of Cathy Cassidy and Cathy Hopkins. Bonus!

  2. I think it’s good to read a humorous book every now and again and this one sounds like such an interesting and hilarious one to pick! Thanks for the great review lucy, I’m definitely adding this book to my wishlist now! 😀

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.