Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Posted June 8, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley FitzpatrickTitle: The Boy Most Likely To
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Electric Monkey
Publication Date: June 9th 2016
Genres: Friendship, General, Love & Romance, United States, Young Adult
Pages: 496
Format: eARC
Source: Electric Monkey
four-stars

For fans of Morgan Matson, Rainbow Rowell and John's Green's Paper Towns
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the drinks cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house.
Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.
For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard . . .

Review: I adored Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door, and while I liked What I Thought Was True it didn’t quite grab me in the same way, so I was really looking forward to the chance to return to the Garrett family and Tim. My Life Next Door did a wonderful job in introducing a wide range of characters I felt deeply invested in. I really cared about the Garrett family, who felt realistic to me, I rooted for Sam and loved her development throughout the book. There were subplots and characters I cared about, like Nan and Tim.

The Boy Most Likely To is definitely not My Life Next Door. It’s a little darker and moodier, not a ‘typical’ contemporary romance novel and this worked for me and felt right for her characters..

For me, The Boy Most Like To was more ‘Tim’s’ story overall than Alice’s, and the title would support this. The novel is told through dual perspective, so Alice has her own distinct plot-line which builds satisfyingly  upon plot points in My Life Next Door, but for me I was rooting for Tim overall. There’s something about his characterisation that cannot help but steal the scene/chapter and I felt hints of it in My Life Next Door as he read as much more than just a secondary character.Tim is a character you cannot help but root for, even though you might not agree with his actions or behaviour and this is a novel where he really begins to grow. I became invested in his relationship with his father and felt that it felt plausible. I could see where each character was coming to at points and I could see why his dad reached a point of needing to make some dramatic stand and ultimatum. Tim is a deeply flawed character and it’s clear has some issues around drinking and partying, however from my experience reading My Life Next Door, Huntley Fitzpatrick does add deeper, darker issues to her contemporary YA so this is not a real departure from her earlier writing.

As an aside, if you look at any review of The Boy Most Likely Too online, it probably mentions a twist which is pretty divisive. I, being one of those people who hunts out spoilers periodically, knew where it was going which in a way was great as I could see little hints along the way from a structural perspective,  but this may have influenced my feelings on the twists and developments. I’m keeping this review as spoiler free as possible so won’t delve any further at this time.

Fans of My Life Next Door will surely love briefly returning to the world and characters again, but The Boy Most Likely To is its own distinct story and can be read as a standalone novel. I think fans of contemporary YA will find a lot to enjoy overall in The Boy Most Likely To however there are some developments  and plot points that may not work for readers.

four-stars

Do you want to see more posts like this? Subscribe to ChooseYA via email!

One response to “Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

  1. Wasn’t it SO nice to see the Garrett’s again? I was happy just for that! But I thought the whole book could have been narrated by Tim bc I didn’t get much from Alice’s POV other that she was worried about her family and had a fear of commitment in relationships. I was not a fan of the “twist” but it didn’t kill the book for me. And it happened so early on that I was okay with just going with it. Great review, glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge