Genre: Friendship

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Posted June 8, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 1 Comment

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley FitzpatrickTitle: The Boy Most Likely To
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Electric Monkey
Publication Date: June 9th 2016
Genres: Friendship, General, Love & Romance, United States, Young Adult
Pages: 496
Format: eARC
Source: Electric Monkey
four-stars

For fans of Morgan Matson, Rainbow Rowell and John's Green's Paper Towns
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the drinks cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house.
Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.
For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard . . .

Review: I adored Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door, and while I liked What I Thought Was True it didn’t quite grab me in the same way, so I was really looking forward to the chance to return to the Garrett family and Tim. My Life Next Door did a wonderful job in introducing a wide range of characters I felt deeply invested in. I really cared about the Garrett family, who felt realistic to me, I rooted for Sam and loved her development throughout the book. There were subplots and characters I cared about, like Nan and Tim.

The Boy Most Likely To is definitely not My Life Next Door. It’s a little darker and moodier, not a ‘typical’ contemporary romance novel and this worked for me and felt right for her characters..

For me, The Boy Most Like To was more ‘Tim’s’ story overall than Alice’s, and the title would support this. The novel is told through dual perspective, so Alice has her own distinct plot-line which builds satisfyingly  upon plot points in My Life Next Door, but for me I was rooting for Tim overall. There’s something about his characterisation that cannot help but steal the scene/chapter and I felt hints of it in My Life Next Door as he read as much more than just a secondary character.Tim is a character you cannot help but root for, even though you might not agree with his actions or behaviour and this is a novel where he really begins to grow. I became invested in his relationship with his father and felt that it felt plausible. I could see where each character was coming to at points and I could see why his dad reached a point of needing to make some dramatic stand and ultimatum. Tim is a deeply flawed character and it’s clear has some issues around drinking and partying, however from my experience reading My Life Next Door, Huntley Fitzpatrick does add deeper, darker issues to her contemporary YA so this is not a real departure from her earlier writing.

As an aside, if you look at any review of The Boy Most Likely Too online, it probably mentions a twist which is pretty divisive. I, being one of those people who hunts out spoilers periodically, knew where it was going which in a way was great as I could see little hints along the way from a structural perspective,  but this may have influenced my feelings on the twists and developments. I’m keeping this review as spoiler free as possible so won’t delve any further at this time.

Fans of My Life Next Door will surely love briefly returning to the world and characters again, but The Boy Most Likely To is its own distinct story and can be read as a standalone novel. I think fans of contemporary YA will find a lot to enjoy overall in The Boy Most Likely To however there are some developments  and plot points that may not work for readers.

four-stars

Review: Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

Review: Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

Review: Leah Thomas’ debut Because You’ll Never Meet Me arrived through the postbox as a surprise with a very intriguing premise. I find epistolary novels quite interesting and the idea of this impossible sounding friendship where they can never meet was unusual. Ollie is allergic to electricity, coming into contact  with it causes seizures so he is virtually stranded off the grid. His only real friend is a neighbour’s relative and he struggles with the more normal life she has and reconciling and competing with that with his own isolated world. Ollie is put in touch with Moritz, a teenager in Germany who relies on an electronic pacemaker who was born with no eyes, by his doctor and while it isn’t entirely smooth at first, a friendship forms. The plot goes in a direction I didn’t entirely expect, though as […]

Posted July 27, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Othergirl by Nicole Burstein

Review: Othergirl by Nicole Burstein

Review: Full disclosure first; I’ve met and chatted with Nicole a few times through the blogging community and she was kind enough to send me a copy of Othergirl to review. As always, this doesn’t affect my review’s content, tone, or honesty. I was really excited for Nicole’s YA debut, especially as I’d been chatting with her from when she worked in book selling and blogged at some YA events and she’s brilliantly enthusiastic about YA. Othergirl has a fantastic premise about what happens when your best friend is the superhero and you’re just a regular person? This book is fantastically fun and fans of graphic novels and superhero stories will find so much to enjoy. The plot is original and despite sounding very removed from teenage experience, really highlights the difficulties in friendships, feeling like you’re not as good as […]

Posted June 1, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Juvie by Steve Watkins

Review: Juvie by Steve Watkins

Review: I was lucky enough to be invited to Walker Books blogger brunch last November and had a wonderful time chatting with bloggers and publishing people, eating yummy food and hearing all about the upcoming books from Walker. One of them immediately caught my attention with its striking cover and compelling concept: Juvie. Described alongside Orange Is The New Black comparisons, Juvie tells the story of Sadie who is accidentally caught up in a drug deal. To keep her sister out of jail, and niece out of care, Sadie confesses despite being innocent. What was meant to just be a slap on the wrist turns into a six month sentence and when we meet Sadie she’s just about to start this. Juvie surprised me as I read it. It is far more about Sadie’s own journey and growth than action. The […]

Posted January 26, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 1 Comment
Divider

Review: The Worst Girlfriend in the World by Sarra Manning

Review: The Worst Girlfriend in the World by Sarra Manning

Review: Ever since I was a teenager and read Let’s Get Lost, Sarra Manning has been one of my must-read YA authors. I just love her writing so I was pleased to snag an egalley of latest YA, The Worst Girlfriend In The World. Franny’s best friend Alice is regarded as the worst girlfriend in the world to many of the local boys, with that title cheerfully blasted on the boy’s bathroom wall. However that’s never affected their friendship. Until Franny starts college to study fashion while Alice stays at their old school for sixth form cracks form. One almighty crack in their friendship called Louis Allen, lead singer of the awful local band The Desperadoes and Franny’s crush of choice for years. However, when Alice sets her sights on him how will their friendship survive their deal that the best […]

Posted April 29, 2014 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Dead Ends by Erin Lange

Review: Dead Ends by Erin Lange

Review: I had heard a lot about Erin Lange’s debut, Butter, last year but not had a chance to read it so when I read about Dead Ends, I was intrigued. I love contemporary YA and road-trip novels too and this sounded like an ideal read for me. Troubled with a bad temper, Dane is this close to being suspended. Billy D is new in his neighbourhood, well liked by his teachers, well behaved and he also has Down’s Syndrome. When the two strike up an unlikely alliance to help Dane with his school problems, Billy D asks Dane to help him find his father in exchange. However this isn’t as easy as it may first appear and also involved decrypting several clues to strangely named towns in an old atlas. I really liked the fact that although Billy D had […]

Posted February 10, 2014 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

Review: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

Review: Courtney C Stevens’ YA debut tells the story of Alexi and Bodee. Alexi has a seemingly ideal life and family, but after something happened to her in the summer she’s faking being okay and relies on coping mechanisms like scratching her next, counting the number of slats in the vent in her room and hiding in her closet. When Bodee, a boy from her school, moves into her family’s home after the murder of his mother by his father the two begin to connect and attempt to reconcile with their pasts. While the plot itself may seem typical of issue novels, this book stands on its own due to its writing and sensitivity. Stevens approaches difficult subjects tactfully and with Alexi’s secret really examines the impact something like this would have on a person. For that reason it is fairly […]

Posted February 3, 2014 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider