Genre: Girls & Women

Review: These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Posted March 30, 2016 by chooseyabooks in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Hot Key Books in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: These Shallow Graves by Jennifer DonnellyTitle: These Shallow Graves
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Publication Date: October 27th 2015
Genres: Young Adult, Love & Romance, Fiction, Thrillers, General, Historical, United States, 19th Century, Girls & Women, Action & Adventure
Pages: 496
Format: eARC
Source: Hot Key Books
four-half-stars

A wealthy family. A deadly secret. A young woman with more to lose than she knows.
Josephine Montfort is from one of New York's oldest, most respected, and wealthiest families. Like most well-off girls of the Gilded Age, her future looks set - after a finishing school education, she will be favourably married off to a handsome gentleman, after which she'll want for nothing. But Jo has other dreams and desires that make her long for a very different kind of future. She wants a more meaningful and exciting life: she wants to be an investigative journalist like her heroine Nellie Bly.
But when Jo's father is found dead in his study after an alleged accident, her life becomes far more exciting than even Jo would wish. Unable to accept that her father could have been so careless, she begins to investigate his death with the help of a young reporter, Eddie Gallagher. It quickly becomes clear he was murdered, and in their race against time to discover the culprit and his motive, Jo and Eddie find themselves not only battling dark characters on the violent and gritty streets of New York, but also their growing feelings for each other.

Review: These Shallow Graves was one of my most anticipated reads of 2015. From the moment I read about it in the Bookseller, to hearing the enthusiasm from Hot Key Books at their 2015 blogger brunch, I knew this would be a book I couldn’t wait for. It has taken me a little time to review it however do not think this is because it’s not met my expectations or I didn’t enjoy it. I did.

Jo Montford wants to be a writer, however that isn’t what her family or society expect from her. Everything changes when her father is found dead after supposedly accidentally shooting himself. However, Jo knows her father wouldn’t clean a loaded gun so tries to uncover the truth behind his death and is later joined by keen reporter, Eddie.

These Shallow Graves is a brilliant historical novel. While there are several great historical novels in YA (I in particular have enjoyed Catherine Johnson’s work), it feels like a slightly less explored market than YA set now or in the recent past. Donnelly really creates a vivid world and sense of the period. Donnelly has a great writing style and she drew me in very quickly until I couldn’t put my ereader down!

While aspects of the mystery were somewhat predictable and I did guess several twists, I really enjoyed this book. Donnelly writes so well and the historical setting made it stand out in the crowd more. I thought the characterisation was strong and the relationship and interactions between Jo and Eddie were great to read. I enjoyed Eddie as a character, though found him a bit frustrating at times (the same is true of Jo) and the story really began to draw me in and become unputdownable as Eddie and Jo team up to investigate.

Overall, Donnelly’s These Shallow Graves is a well-executed historical YA thriller and I thought the ending in particular drew things together well. It looks at more than just the mystery but the role and expectations of women in the late nineteenth/start of the twentieth century and also what the world was really like, not just in high society but across New York City.

I look forward to Jennifer Donnelley’s next novel and on the strength of These Shallow Graves have been interested in reading more of Donnelley’s writings including her non-YA series.

Fans of Historical YA or Mystery YA novels should find lots to enjoy in These Shallow Graves.

four-half-stars

Review: Othergirl by Nicole Burstein

Review: Othergirl by Nicole Burstein

Review: Full disclosure first; I’ve met and chatted with Nicole a few times through the blogging community and she was kind enough to send me a copy of Othergirl to review. As always, this doesn’t affect my review’s content, tone, or honesty. I was really excited for Nicole’s YA debut, especially as I’d been chatting with her from when she worked in book selling and blogged at some YA events and she’s brilliantly enthusiastic about YA. Othergirl has a fantastic premise about what happens when your best friend is the superhero and you’re just a regular person? This book is fantastically fun and fans of graphic novels and superhero stories will find so much to enjoy. The plot is original and despite sounding very removed from teenage experience, really highlights the difficulties in friendships, feeling like you’re not as good as […]

Posted June 1, 2015 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider

Review: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

Review: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

Review: Courtney C Stevens’ YA debut tells the story of Alexi and Bodee. Alexi has a seemingly ideal life and family, but after something happened to her in the summer she’s faking being okay and relies on coping mechanisms like scratching her next, counting the number of slats in the vent in her room and hiding in her closet. When Bodee, a boy from her school, moves into her family’s home after the murder of his mother by his father the two begin to connect and attempt to reconcile with their pasts. While the plot itself may seem typical of issue novels, this book stands on its own due to its writing and sensitivity. Stevens approaches difficult subjects tactfully and with Alexi’s secret really examines the impact something like this would have on a person. For that reason it is fairly […]

Posted February 3, 2014 by chooseyabooks in reviews / 0 Comments
Divider